lust of the mesh

i’ve been legitimately thinking of purchasing a mesh black turtleneck for work. yes, you read that correctly. the kind that before i came to ukraine didn’t even know existed, other than possibly in cold strip club venues. they don’t make much sense in terms of function. what’s the point of it having a turtleneck that provides no warmth? it’s one oxymoron of a garment…yet i still find myself thinking my teacher outfit is incomplete without it.

there are some ladies — thin, large, perky breast, saggy breasts– that embrace the world of mesh in ukraine. it’s completely acceptable (at any age or figure) to wear mesh. in some ways it’s great, not because i want to see breasts all the time (sometimes i’m mentally scarred by what i see), but for them to be that accepting of their body and not be afraid to flaunt it. in the summertime mesh is rampant like the cold sores at my school (yea i’m careful to never share drinks). but thankfully mesh is tamed down come fall and winter. most teachers wear a long sleeved mesh shirt to school under their sweater or dress. i’m guessing it provides some type of warmth? maybe? at least a lady can still seduce with a peek at her arms.

i recently acquired a great navy blue turtleneck sweater dress from my former site mate.  it’s really warm and teacher-like but lacks sleeves — clearly ann taylor loft wasn’t thinking about potential dress owners teaching in the poorly heated schools of ukraine. so i glance at my fellow teachers and their mesh sleeves. and i want them. not the teachers, their sleeves…just to be clear.

maybe i’ve been in ukraine far too long. i’m starting to find mesh fashionable, i don’t think twice about wearing one outfit for the entire week (i’ll miss that not being culturally acceptable when i go home), and of course never leave the house without polishing my boots.

there’s been many a time when a ukrainian confuses me for a ukrainian. i’ve been stopped numerous times in my village for directions, though i’m usually not much help since there are no street signs and i can only identify two street names. other times people ask me random questions about buses or like today at the post-office when orthodox easter is next year. i have no idea why i’m sometimes confused for a ukrainian. i don’t even own anything mesh! — yet. maybe it’s my polish heritage (the reason ukrainians gleefully exclaim ‘you’re one of us!!’), my freshly polished boots (when i don’t wear my duck hunting ones that is), or my inner desire to own something meshy. i think it’s probably the last one.

here’s to hoping that i leave ukraine before i start thinking of a mullet for my next hair cut.

l

lunchtime for the little kiddies at school

5 thoughts on “lust of the mesh

  1. I kind of want a mesh shirt too! Do they make mesh dresses? Haha jk. But seriously, I could use the mesh for my non winterized dresses! Let’s mesh shop one of these days! Also, mullets are totally fashionable in America…Haven’t you ever been to Walmart? moohahaha

  2. This made me crack up so much! I’ve been contemplating the mesh as well. I say go for it 🙂 it’s just like the one faucet for both tub and sink…you can wear one dress for winter and summer if you go the mesh! Haha

Leave a Reply

